Sports suspended at UW System branch campuses

Intercollegiate sports at 10 branch campuses within five University of Wisconsin System institutions have been temporarily suspended for the 2020-21 academic year.

UW-Eau Claire, UW-Green Bay, UW-Oshkosh,UW-Platteville and UW-Stevens Point are the five institutions that made a joint decision on Tuesday. The 10 campuses affected are in Baraboo, Barron, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc, Marinette, Marshfield, Menasha (Fox Cities), Richland, Sheboygan and Wausau.

“The one-year pause in sports reflects the additional challenges of facility cleaning and disinfecting, providing athletic trainers and other logistical issues posed by the current coronavirus pandemic,” a news release from the UW System schools stated.

The 10 campuses, which feature a few area graduates, play in the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference. The WCC includes 13 two-year campuses in total.