Hoffman not running for 4th term on council

NEW Media Staff

There will be at least one new face on the Shawano Common Council in 2024 as the new election season starts to take form.

Lisa Hoffman, who represents the fourth aldermanic district, will not be running for a new term. She has filed papers of non-candidacy, and it was announced by City Clerk Lesley Nemetz at the Nov. 13 council meeting.

Hoffman declined to comment on why she is not running for another term. She was first elected to the council in 2017 and is currently serving as council president.

Also up for election are the second and sixth aldermanic districts, as well as the mayor’s seat. Mayor Bruce Milavitz and Aldermen Jim Hauer and John Hoeffs have taken out papers to run for another term.

As of the council meeting, no other candidates have taken out papers. The deadline to submit paperwork is Jan. 2.