College News


Bennett Frazer, a management major from Lena, is a member of the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater baseball team, which won the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament title for the eighth time in program history to secure an automatic bid to the NCAA Division 3 Tournament.

Bennett Frazer was one of nine members of the Warhawk baseball team who garnered All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference accolades for their performances during the 2024 season. He batted a .414 and was 12th in the nation for sacrifice bunts.


Alongside more than 100 of their peers, 13 seniors were awarded the Samuel E. Wood Medallion for their outstanding leadership in student involvement at University of Wisconsin-Stout’s annual Leadership Awards ceremony in Menomonie.

The Wood Medallion is the highest nonacademic award for students at UW-Stout. Fewer than 1% of full-time students receive the award. It is presented to seniors who have contributed in student activities, leadership and scholastic ability. Winners are chosen by a committee representing faculty, staff and students.

Award recipients included Bailey Pedersen, professional communications and emerging media major, Gillett.

Southern New Hampshire University

Officials at Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU) in Manchester, New Hampshire, congratulates the following students on being named to the winter 2024 president’s list. The winter terms run from January to May.

Full-time undergraduate students who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 and above for the reporting term are named to the president’s list.

Honorees include Katherine Stephenson of Gresham, Carmine Linea of Shawano, Logan Klein of Lena and Maxwell Mueller of Bonduel.


The following students were among the 2,480 candidates for degree attending University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee commencement exercises May 19 in Milwaukee.

Shawano: Isabella Buettner, bachelor of science, School of School of Public Health; Chase Huntington, bachelor of business administration, Sheldon B. Lubar College of Business; Christa Lyons, master of business administration, Sheldon B. Lubar College of Business.

Abrams: Samantha Coron, bachelor of science, School of Rehabilitation Sciences and Technology.

Gillett: Camryn Long, bachelor of business administration, Sheldon B. Lubar College of Business.

Oconto Falls: Natalie Brauer, bachelor of science, School of Rehabilitation Sciences and Technology; Taylor Tousey, master of science, Sheldon B. Lubar College of Business.

Suring: Rebecca Paliwoda, master of science, School of Information Studies.

University of Dubuque

Gillett’s Riley Engebretsen was named to the spring semester 2024 academic dean’s list at the University of Dubuque in Dubuque, Iowa.

Full-time students in good academic standing (registered for and having earned 12 or more letter grade credits for the term) who earn a term grade-point average of 3.5 or above and who do not have any grades of incomplete for the term are named to the dean’s list.


Area students named to the UW-Whitewater dean’s list for the 2024 spring semester are as follows.

Bonduel: Bella Delzer, Baylie .Hansen, Taylor Luepke, Abby Stoltenow.

Oconto Falls: Elsie Desterheft, Hannah Wusterbarth.

Pulaski: Rachel Wasielewski.

Shawano: Maddy Heling, Lucas te Plate.

Wittenberg: Kaylee Schram.

These students have demonstrated their academic abilities by receiving a grade-point average of 3.4 or above in a single semester.

University of Alabama

Braden Vandermoss of Abrams has been named to the University of Alabama president’s list with a 4.0 grade-point average. Vandermoss is a mathematics major, planning for a career in sports analytics.

Wisconsin Lutheran College

The following students were named to Wisconsin Lutheran College’s dean’s list for the spring 2024 semester.

To be eligible for the dean’s list at the Milwaukee college, a student must carry a semester grade-point average of 3.6 or higher.

Connor Heezen, of Pulaski, a junior at Wisconsin Lutheran College. Connor is a graduate of Pulaski High School.

Carson Robaidek, of Bonduel, a senior at Wisconsin Lutheran College. Carson is a graduate of Bonduel High School.

Kara Troxel, of Pulaski, a senior at Wisconsin Lutheran College. Troxel is a graduate of Bonduel High School.

Juliana Sieber, of Oconto, a junior at Wisconsin Lutheran College is a graduate of Oconto High School.

Ripon College

The Ripon College class of 2024 celebrated the 158th commencement ceremony at Ripon College May 12.

Graduates included Lauren Bahr of Wittenberg, Ava Zamzow of Eland and Sydney Young of Gillett.