Chelberg picked as top male cross country runner

Eggert named conference golfer of the year
Kevin Passon

Shawano Community High School senior Will Chelberg was named the Bay Conference boys runner of the year for the 2023 season.

Teammates Ethan Onesti and Andon Chelberg, both seniors, joined Will Chelberg in receiving first team all-conference honors.

Junior Josiah Kruel was named to the second team.

Shawano sophomore Bailey Hendricks was named to the all-conference first team on the girls side, with seniors Grace Chelberg and Lilly Guenther picking up second team honors.

Sophomores Maci Beyer and Anabelle Schroeder received honorable mention status.


Adison Moesch earned first team all-conference honors for her singles play on the tennis court this fall.

Also at singles, Ireland Setterman earned second team honors, and Rachel Carroll was named honorable mention.


Junior Jerzy Brocker was named Bay Conference’s defensive back of the year for football. Brocker (6-1, 190) was also a unanimous selection for first team defense.

Three players were named to the second team. They were senior defensive lineman Micah Bouwma (6-0, 180), senior defensive end Mason Theis (6-0, 195) and sophomore inside linebacker Ayden Bystol (6-0, 185).

Honorable mention was earned by senior outside linebacker Lucas Nuthals (6-0, 190) and junior defensive back Alex Zierden (5-10, 160).

On the offensive side of the line, two players earned first team honors. They are junior wide receiver Logan Sipple (6-0, 185), who was a unanimous selection, and junior Brocker, a flex player.

Second team honors were bestowed upon senior wide receiver Dylan Hodliewicz (5-11, 170) and senior outside linebacker Mason Theis (6-0, 195).


Shawano senior defenseman Ryan Shanty earned all-conference first team honors.

Second team honors were bestowed upon junior at-large player Warner Beyer. Honorable mention status was earned by senior midfielder Drake Herm and sophomore midfielder Anderson Schmidt.


Senior Abigail Bystol was a unanimous selection to the all-conference first team for volleyball. The middle hitter was joined by sophomore middle hitter Leah Nordin on the first team.

Coral Cook, a senior outside hitter, was named to the second team. Honorable mention status was earned by sophomore outside hitter Natalie Bystol and senior defensive specialist Samantha Richter.


Sophia Eggert was Bay Conference girls golfer of the year and was named to the first team for 2023.

Teammate Braylyn Babino was named to the second team, and Maddie Moesch earned honorable mention status.


Several Wittenberg-Birnamwood swimmers earned all-conference status, spread across the first team, second team and honorable mention.

First team honors went to freshman Kelsie Davis in the 100-yard backstroke and the 200-yard individual medley, junior Faith Resch in the 100-yard freestyle and the 50-yard freestyle, and the 200-yard medley relay of Davis, sophomore Reese Dickman, Resch and junior Ava Hegewald.

Dickman was named to the second team in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Dickman was also presented with honorable mention status in the 50-yard freestyle, as was the 200-yard freestyle relay team of Resch, Davis, Hegewald and Dickman.