SHAWANO SPEEDWAY: Local racers win big at Speedway

Kevin Passon

Shawano racers won four of the five feature races at the Shawano Speedway on July 6.

Tommy Rindt started in seventh place in the IMCA sport modifiers feature and moved all the way to the top spot. Oconto Falls’ Cole Magnin started one place in front of Rindt but ended one spot behind in second when the checkered flag flew.

In the first heat, Shannon Fandrey of Birnamwood had the pole and stayed with it to the end for the win. Magnin again placed second after moving up five spots from his place in the starting grid.

Shawano’s Trace Yeager won the second heat, advancing from a second-place start.

The other top five finishers also moved up form their starting points. Placing second was Sean Falk of Bonduel, who started fourth; Cole Slezewski, Pulaski, placed third after starting sixth; Tommy Rindt, Shawano, placed fourth after starting seventh; and Jeffery Teske, Shawano, finished fifth after starting in the ninth spot. Mattoon’s Heidi Fleischman dropped to sixth after starting in the P1 slot.

For the dirt late models, Troy Springborn jumped from a fourth-place starting spot to earn the checkered flag. Marshfield’s Chris Oertel started in first and placed second, while Bonduel’s Nick Anvelink started eighth and placed third.

Abrams’ Ron Berna won the first heat, with Anvelink in second. The second heat was won by Jordan Barkholz, Hortonville.

Trent Nolan made a huge jump in position to capture the IMCA stock cars feature. Starting back in the 14th slot, he moved all the way to the front by the end of the race. Dan Michonski of Marion was a seventh-place starter but a second-place finisher.

Travis VanStraten, Hortonville, won the first heat; Mitch Stankowski, Wausau, won the second heat; and Brekken Kleinschmidt, Shawano, won the third heat, followed by Travis Welch, Gillett.

In the Mighty 4s, Dalton Nelson of Shawano started in the No. 8 position and won, followed by Clintonville’s Tanner Westphal, who started the race in seventh.

Braden Allen, Sobieski, won the first heat, and Justin Haufe, Marion, won the second heat.

The only outlier was Marcus Yarlie, of Wausau, who won the IMCA modifiers after starting seventh. He also won his heat after starting sixth. The other heat winner was Tannery Janke, of New London.